Sunday, January 11, 2009

National eHealth Collaborative Launched

The National eHealth Collaborative formerly called AHIC Successor, Inc. was recently launched in Washington D.C. The Collaborative is a public private partnership to provide a secure interoperable, nationwide health information network as a non-profit membership organization.

The Collaborative’s membership includes all stakeholders and federal, state agencies, health systems, payers, health professionals, medical centers, community hospitals, patient advocates, major employers, non-profit health organization, commercial technology providers, and others.
The Collaborative will work with the Health Information Technology Standards Panel (HITSP), CCHIT, and NHIN as well as other health IT member organizations.

The group has elected John Tooker, M.D., Executive Vice President and Chief Executive Officer of the American College of Physicians to serve as Chair of the 2009 Board of Directors. Kevin Hutchison, President and CEO of Prematics, Inc. was elected Vice Chair, Thomas Fritz CEO of Inland Northwest health Services as Treasurer, and Laura Miller, will act as Secretary.

The Collaborative will work on:

  • Developing consistent standards to guide the development for sharing confidential health information within a secure network
  • Educating and guiding the widespread adoption of EHRs by health systems, health professionals, and individuals
  • Creating a secure interoperable network to provide protected access to personal health information
  • Partnering with the Nationwide health Information Collaborative and others to develop a governance plan for NHIN

For more information, go to or call 877-835-6506.